When Google announced that Google+ users endorsements for products and services would be used in ads, it caused somewhat of an uproar, including letters to Senators and warnings from privacy advocates. Google quickly explained that this service (called “shared endorsements”) would make it easier to share your likes and dislikes with friends and colleagues.
Google also made sure that everyone knew you could easily opt out of shared endorsements. If you feel like you want to do that, it’s as easy as clicking a button. Here’s the link to opt out, and below it is an explanation on what they are doing:
Google makes it easy for you to get great recommendations from your friends. For example, when you visit the Google Play music store, you may see that a friend has +1′d a new album by your favorite artist. When you search for a restaurant, you may see an ad including a 5-star review by another friend.
We call these shared endorsements. Here’s what you need to know:
- You’re in control: Your content is only shared when you choose, and shared endorsements don’t impact who can see your content or activity.
- To help your friends and others find cool stuff online, your activity (such as reviews, +1s, follows, shares, etc.) may be used along with your name and photo in commercial or other promotional contexts.
- When it comes to shared endorsements in ads, you can choose whether your name and photo may be used to help your friends find stuff you love (and avoid stuff you don’t) — you can control this with the setting at the bottom of this page.
- The name and photo shown in shared endorsements are the public profile name and photo you have chosen on Google+.